Wednesday, May 17, 2023

2023 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists Announced

Congratulations to this year's Mythopoeic Awards Finalists! 

2023 Mythopoeic Award Finalists Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Kelly Barnhill, When Women Were Dragons (Doubleday, 2022)

Alex Jennings, The Ballad of Perilous Graves (Redhook, 2022)

Sacha Lamb, When the Angels Left the Old Country (Levine Querido, 2022)

GennaRose Nethercott, Thistlefoot (Anchor Books, 2022)

Peng Shepherd, The Cartographers (William Morrow, 2022)

2023 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

Tracy Badua, Freddie vs. the Family Curse (Clarion, 2022)

Kelly Barnhill, The Ogress and the Orphans (Algonquin Young Readers, 2022)

Kate DiCamillo, The Beatryce Prophecy (Candlewick Press, 2021)

Brian Farrey, The Counterclockwise Heart (Algonquin Young Readers, 2022)

L. D. Lapinski, Strangeworlds Travel Agency trilogy (2021-2022)

Sofiya Pasternack, Black Bird, Blue Road (Versify, 2022)

Christina Soontornvat, The Last Mapmaker (Candlewick, 2022)

2023 Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Paul S. Fiddes, Charles Williams and C.S. Lewis: Friends in Co-inherence (Oxford UP, 2021)

John Garth, The Worlds of J.R.R. Tolkien: The Places that Inspired Middle-earth (Princeton UP, 2020)

Peter Grybauskas, A Sense of Tales Untold: Exploring the Edges of Tolkien’s Literary Canvas (Kent State UP, 2021)

Thomas Kullmann and Dirk Siepmann, Tolkien as a Literary Artist (Palgrave Macmillan, 2021).

John Rosegrant, Tolkien, Enchantment, and Loss: Steps on the Developmental Journey (Kent State UP, 2022)

2023 Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Brian Attebery, Fantasy: How It Works (Oxford UP, 2022)

Taylor Driggers, Queering Faith in Fantasy Literature (Bloomsbury Academic, 2022)

Hadas Elber-Aviram, Fairy Tales of London: British Urban Fantasy, 1840 to the Present (Bloomsbury Academic, 2021)

Daniel Ogden, The Dragon in the West: From Ancient Myth to Modern Legend (Oxford UP, 2021)

Matthew Oliver, Magic Words, Magic Worlds: Form and Style in Epic Fantasy (McFarland, 2022)

Marek Oziewicz, Brian Attebery, and Tereza Dědinová, editors. Fantasy and Myth in the Anthropocene: Imagining Futures and Dreaming Hope in Literature and Media (Bloomsbury Academic, 2022)

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at our Online Midsummer Seminar 2023, "Fantasy Goes to Hell" which runs August 5-6, 2023, on Zoom and Discord. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site. The finalists for the literature awards, text of recent acceptance speeches, and selected book reviews are also listed in this on-line section. For more information about the Mythopoeic Awards, please contact the Awards Administrator: Dennis Wise.