Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Mythcon 48 CALL FOR PAPERS

The Call For Papers for Mythcon 48 is now available in PDF form; please follow the link. The conference theme is All That Is Gold as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the founding of the Mythopoeic Society. Do come join us in Champaign, Illinois, this summer! July 28-31, 2017.

Monday, March 6, 2017

Mythcon 48 Guests of Honor Announced

The Mythopoeic Society and Mythcon 48 are pleased to announce that William Fliss, Archivist at the Marquette University Special Collections and Archives, and Laura Schmidt, Archivist at the Marion E. Wade Center at Wheaton College, will be our Guests of Honor for this very special conference.

Details of location, housing, and our first Progress Report will be available shortly. We encourage you to register now and plan to join us next summer in Illinois for an historic conference.

Mythcon 48 will be held July 28-31, 2017, in Champaign, Illinois. We will be celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Mythopoeic Society and our conference theme is All That Is Gold.

Monday, February 6, 2017

Mythopoeic Awards Call for Nominations: Extended Deadline

Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) has been extended to February 24, 2017; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during in 2016 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.
The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children¹s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category.
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2014 through 2016 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.


Winners of the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 48th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 48), to be held July 28-31, 2017 at Champaign-Urbana, Illinois.
Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

     David Oberhelman
     306 Edmon Low Library
     Oklahoma State University
     Stillwater, OK 74078
     Email: 
awards@mythsoc.org

Friday, January 13, 2017

Mythprint #379 Published

The latest issue of Mythprint has been published (#378) and it will be sent to all members of the Mythopoeic Society; the default method is via email (if you use gmail be sure to check the "Promotions" tab) but some members choose to receive a print copy and it will be mailed to them.

We encourage you to join the Mythopoeic Society or renew your membership so you, too can enjoy our quarterly news-and-reviews publication.

We also take this opportunity to remind you that early registration rates for Mythcon 48 are about to go up, so save money and join the conference now!

Tuesday, November 1, 2016

Mythopoeic Awards 2017: Call for Nominations

Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 10, 2017; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts.


The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during in 2016 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.
The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children¹s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category.
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2014 through 2016 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.
The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.


Winners of the 2017 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 48th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 48), to be held July 28-31, 2017 at Champaign-Urbana, Illinois.
Please contact David Oberhelman, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

     David Oberhelman
     306 Edmon Low Library
     Oklahoma State University
     Stillwater, OK 74078
     Email: 
awards@mythsoc.org

Thursday, October 20, 2016

Mythlore 129 published

Mythlore 129 has been published and is enroute to subscribers who receive print copies; subscribers who take the electronic version should have already received an email notification. Here is the Table of Contents and the opportunity to buy either print or PDF versions of Mythlore 129; most back-issues of Mythlore are also available for sale via the Mythlore History page, including all issues edited by Janet Brennan Croft in both electronic and print formats.

Mythlore 129: 208 pages of scholarly excellence, get it while it's hot!

Saturday, October 8, 2016

Mythprint #378 published

The latest issue of Mythprint has been published (#378) and it will be sent to all members of the Mythopoeic Society; the default method is via email but some members choose to receive a print copy and it will be mailed to them.

We encourage you to join the Mythopoeic Society or renew your membership so you, too can enjoy our quarterly news-and-reviews publication.

We also take this opportunity to remind you that early registration rates apply for Mythcon 48 so please consider joining the conference before the rates rise.