Thursday, January 16, 2020

The last Inkling, Christopher Tolkien, has left us

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil.


Christopher Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien's son and literary executor has died today at age 95. Christopher was instrumental to the field of Tolkien Studies, working tirelessly to compile and edit his father's work, giving the world an extraordinary glimpse into the process of creating a masterpiece. Today we mourn the man who brought the Silmarillion to completion and dedicated his life to ensuring the legacy of Tolkien's work. He will be missed by all who love Tolkien.

The Mythopoeic Society offers its sincerest condolences to the Tolkien family.

Monday, December 9, 2019

Mythopoeic Awards 2020: Call for Nominations

Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2020 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 15 2020; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts. 



The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2019 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children¹s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2017 through 2019 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.



Winners of the 2020 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 51th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 51), to be held July 31-Aug 3, 2020, in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  
Please contact Vicki Ronn, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

Dr. Vicki Ronn
Friends University2100 W. University Ave.
Wichita KS 67213
awards@mythsoc.org

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Mythopoeic Society News about our Yahoo Groups

UPDATE: For several years now the Mythopoeic Society has stated on its News page that our official means of disseminating news to the far-flung members of the Mythopoeic Society was through our MythAnn (Mythopoeic Announcements) list via Yahoo Groups. But Yahoo Groups is soon going the way of the dodo.

We have migrated the MythSoc Yahoo group to Groups.io, history and all. If you are a member of the Yahoo MythSoc group you will have received an email from Groups.io alerting you to the move; you will need to visit the website and update your "Subscription" choices if you don't want the default of each message being sent as an individual email. New members may sign up at Groups.io by clicking the "Apply For Membership In This Group" button.

We have archived the 147 current messages from the MythAnn announcements list on our website but do not believe it is worth the effort and expense to re-create the announcements list as a separate entity. Instead, we will include "official news" announcements in the general MythSoc discussion group; we will also include those announcements here, on our blog.

So if you don't want to subscribe to the general discussion group but only want to receive our "official news" posts, please subscribe to this blog; there are two options in the left-side panel: an RSS feed via a reader or by email.


Thursday, August 8, 2019

Belated News: Mythopoeic Award Winners ...and Albuquerque for Mythcon 51.

The Mythopoeic Society website shared the winners of the 2019 Mythopoeic Awards immediately after they were announced at Mythcon 50 but somehow they didn't get mentioned here, on our news blog... oops!

We are THRILLED to announce that the winner of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik and the winner of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature is Bob by Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead.

We are equally thrilled to announce that the winner of the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies is Verlyn Flieger, There Would Always Be a Fairy Tale: More Essays on Tolkien. The winner of the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies is Dimitra Fimi, Celtic Myth in Contemporary Children’s Fantasy: Idealization, Identity, Ideology.

We congratulate all our winners, including Sarah O'Dell, winner of the 2019 Alexei Kondratiev Award, for her paper, “An Unexpected Poet: The Creative Works of Dr. Robert E. Havard” - you can read the full list of 2019 nominees if you scroll down on the 2019 Mythopoeic Award winners page.

We also invite you to stay tuned as more details are finalized regarding Mythcon 51, which will be held next summer in Albuquerque, New Mexico ...www.mythcon.org will forward to the new page as soon as we've got solid news.




Tuesday, July 30, 2019

Mythcon 50 - Advance Schedule and Check-in Procedures

What an exciting time! (she said, tongue firmly in-cheek)

Mythcon 50 is coming up THIS WEEKEND and you can peruse the Advance Schedule; as you can see, we're looking forward to a busy and program-packed conference!

We also encourage strongly that you read the Check-in Procedures because we've had many changes surprise us within the last week or two.

Advance registration is now closed but at-the-door and day membership rates are posted on the website.

We also remind you to REFRESH your browser windows and phones! Many of the Mythcon-related pages on the website have been updated, some significantly, and you'll miss them if your computer or phone is delivering an earlier iteration of the site.

See you soon!



Saturday, July 20, 2019

Mythcon 50 Advance Registration Closes July 25th

If you've been thinking about coming to Mythcon 50 --and we hope you are-- we encourage you to buy your membership now because online registration will close July 25th and "at the door" prices will be higher:

Currently: Members of the Mythopoeic Society pay  $80
Non-members pay  $95
Students* pay         $65

At Mythcon 50: Members of the Mythopoeic Society will pay  $90
Non-members will pay  $110
Students* will pay           $70

We anticipate day rates will be:
Friday:     $30   ($25 Mythsoc members and students)
Saturday: $50   ($45 Mythsoc members and students)
Sunday:   $50   ($45 Mythsoc members and students)
Monday:  $25   ($20 Mythsoc members and students)


Registration will start Friday at noon in the South Campus Plaza South Tower Lobby; programming will commence in the Aztec Student Union at 2:00 p.m. Friday, August 2nd; the schedule will be published on the website as soon as possible.




* Full-time students (12 or more credit hours per semester/quarter at an accredited college or university); please be prepared to present current, active student ID at check-in to confirm this rate. For children attending with parent(s) or legal guardian(s), 12 and under are free, 12 to 18 pay the student rate.

Thursday, July 11, 2019

Mythcon 50: Significant Update!

One day after publishing Progress Report #2 we learned that SDSU has taken the Cuicacalli dorms offline for summer conferences and Mythcon 50 would be housed entirely in South Campus Plaza, at the Cuicacalli rates.

And then this week we learned that most of the rooms in South Campus Plaza, South Tower --where we will be staying-- are triples. That means one lower bed and two upper bunks (there is a desk and cupboard under one of the upper bunks) - so now we're also asking for people who can handle sleeping in an upper bunk to let us know (see PR#2 for details and email address). To clarify: we are not putting three people into any rooms, so at worst a triple will be used as a double and one of the people will need to sleep in the upper bunk.

We also want to remind people staying on campus that we need a deposit check for $100 made out to the Mythopoeic Society - this will cover the loss of both tap card and room key, should you not turn them in to the front desk at check-out! We will hold your check and return it to you after confirmation from SDSU.

PLEASE remember that our deadline for purchasing Room & Board packages, commuter dinner packages, stand alone banquet tickets (the banquet is included in the Room & Board package and the commuter dinner package) and parking permits sold through our website is JULY 15 - we can't guarantee that we will be able to honor requests or changes after that date.