Tuesday, May 19, 2020

Mythcon 51 Postponed until Summer 2021

The Council of Stewards has considered carefully the state of upheaval and quarantine in which the country has been operating and come to the conclusion that our best path forward is to postpone Mythcon 51 for one year. The new dates are July 30 - August 2, 2021.

Our Guests of Honor, author Rivera Sun and scholar David Bratman, both concur and are happy to serve in that capacity next year. The hotel has been very accommodating and we dare say that our theme, "The Mythic, the Fantastic, and the Alien," will be even more apt next year.

The Call for Papers is available and registration remains open; join now while the membership rates are low.

We hope to see you in Albuquerque NEXT summer!

Thursday, February 13, 2020

Mythcon 51: Guests of Honor Announced

Mythcon 51: Guests of Honor Announced

We are thrilled to announce our Author Guest of Honor for Mythcon 51 is Rivera Sun, the author of The Dandelion Insurrection, The Roots of Resistance, and other novels. Her young adult fantasy series, the Ari Ara Series, has been widely acclaimed by teachers, parents, and peace activists for its blending of fantasy and adventure with social justice issues. The Way Between, the first book in the Ari Ara Series, has been read by numerous groups of all ages, while the second book in the series, The Lost Heir, has been nominated for the 2020 Dayton Peace Literature Prize.

Our Scholar Guest of Honor will be David Bratman, who has been reading Tolkien for over fifty years, and has been writing Tolkien scholarship for nearly as long. His earliest contribution to the field was the first-ever published Tale of Years for the First Age, right after The Silmarillion was published. Since then he has published articles with titles like “Top Ten Rejected Plot Twists from The Lord of the Rings,” “Hobbit Names Aren’t from Kentucky,” and “Liquid Tolkien” (on Tolkien and music). He’s been co-editor of Tolkien Studies: An Annual Scholarly Review since 2013, and has written or edited its annual “Year’s Work in Tolkien Studies” since 2004. David edited The Masques of Amen House by Charles Williams and contributed the bio-bibliographical appendix on the Inklings to Diana Pavlac Glyer’s The Company They Keep. He has also written on C.S. Lewis, Ursula Le Guin, Mervyn Peake, Neil Gaiman, and others.


The conference theme for Mythcon 51 is the Mythic, the Fantastic, and the Alien. Does exploring the Other in Mythopoeia appeal to you? Our call for papers is open until May 15th!





Registration is now open; we invite you to join us next summer in Albuquerque, New Mexico, July 31- August 3, 2020.

Tuesday, February 11, 2020

Mythcon 51: Call for Papers

The Call for Papers for this year's Mythcon is now live. 

Please join us at Mythcon 51: The Mythic, the Fantastic, and the Alien, which will be taking place July 31 - August 3, 2020 in Albuquerque, New Mexico.
 
This year’s Mythcon theme provides multiple opportunities to explore the Other in fantasy and mythopoeic literature. Tolkien spoke in “On Fairy-stories” of “the desire to visit, free as a fish, the deep sea; or the longing for the noiseless, gracious, economical flight of a bird.” We invite discussion about the types of fantasy that are more likely to put us into contact with the alien, such as time portal fantasy and space travel fantasy.

As always, this is going to draw a number of interesting and insightful presentations and panels. If you would like to participate by submitting a paper, please check the CFP for submission information. If your interest has been piqued, please consider registering for our conference. See you in Albuquerque!

Thursday, January 16, 2020

The last Inkling, Christopher Tolkien, has left us

I will not say: do not weep; for not all tears are an evil.


Christopher Tolkien, J.R.R. Tolkien's son and literary executor has died today at age 95. Christopher was instrumental to the field of Tolkien Studies, working tirelessly to compile and edit his father's work, giving the world an extraordinary glimpse into the process of creating a masterpiece. Today we mourn the man who brought the Silmarillion to completion and dedicated his life to ensuring the legacy of Tolkien's work. He will be missed by all who love Tolkien.

The Mythopoeic Society offers its sincerest condolences to the Tolkien family.

Monday, December 9, 2019

Mythopoeic Awards 2020: Call for Nominations

Individual members of the Mythopoeic Society are invited to nominate books for the 2020 Mythopoeic Awards, and/or to volunteer to serve on any of the committees. (You need not join the committee to make nominations.) The deadline for committee volunteers and for nominations (limit of five per person per category, please!) is February 15 2020; please send nominations to the awards administrator (see contact info below) via e-mail (preferred) or U.S. mail. Authors, publishers, and their representatives may not nominate their own books for any of the awards. Books published by the Mythopoeic Press are not eligible for the awards. The Mythopoeic Society does not accept or review unsolicited manuscripts. 



The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2019 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children¹s Literature honors books for beginning readers to age thirteen in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees. Books for mature “Young Adults” may be moved to the Adult literature category.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on J.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and/or Charles Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published from 2017 through 2019 are eligible, including finalists for previous years.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.



Winners of the 2020 Mythopoeic Awards will be announced at the 51th Annual Mythopoeic Conference (Mythcon 51), to be held July 31-Aug 3, 2020, in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  
Please contact Vicki Ronn, the Awards Administrator, to nominate books, volunteer for committees, or ask questions about the Mythopoeic Awards process.

Dr. Vicki Ronn
Friends University2100 W. University Ave.
Wichita KS 67213
awards@mythsoc.org

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Mythopoeic Society News about our Yahoo Groups

UPDATE: For several years now the Mythopoeic Society has stated on its News page that our official means of disseminating news to the far-flung members of the Mythopoeic Society was through our MythAnn (Mythopoeic Announcements) list via Yahoo Groups. But Yahoo Groups is soon going the way of the dodo.

We have migrated the MythSoc Yahoo group to Groups.io, history and all. If you are a member of the Yahoo MythSoc group you will have received an email from Groups.io alerting you to the move; you will need to visit the website and update your "Subscription" choices if you don't want the default of each message being sent as an individual email. New members may sign up at Groups.io by clicking the "Apply For Membership In This Group" button.

We have archived the 147 current messages from the MythAnn announcements list on our website but do not believe it is worth the effort and expense to re-create the announcements list as a separate entity. Instead, we will include "official news" announcements in the general MythSoc discussion group; we will also include those announcements here, on our blog.

So if you don't want to subscribe to the general discussion group but only want to receive our "official news" posts, please subscribe to this blog; there are two options in the left-side panel: an RSS feed via a reader or by email.


Thursday, August 8, 2019

Belated News: Mythopoeic Award Winners ...and Albuquerque for Mythcon 51.

The Mythopoeic Society website shared the winners of the 2019 Mythopoeic Awards immediately after they were announced at Mythcon 50 but somehow they didn't get mentioned here, on our news blog... oops!

We are THRILLED to announce that the winner of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik and the winner of the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children's Literature is Bob by Wendy Mass and Rebecca Stead.

We are equally thrilled to announce that the winner of the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Inklings Studies is Verlyn Flieger, There Would Always Be a Fairy Tale: More Essays on Tolkien. The winner of the Mythopoeic Scholarship Award for Myth and Fantasy Studies is Dimitra Fimi, Celtic Myth in Contemporary Children’s Fantasy: Idealization, Identity, Ideology.

We congratulate all our winners, including Sarah O'Dell, winner of the 2019 Alexei Kondratiev Award, for her paper, “An Unexpected Poet: The Creative Works of Dr. Robert E. Havard” - you can read the full list of 2019 nominees if you scroll down on the 2019 Mythopoeic Award winners page.

We also invite you to stay tuned as more details are finalized regarding Mythcon 51, which will be held next summer in Albuquerque, New Mexico ...www.mythcon.org will forward to the new page as soon as we've got solid news.